Leaning lua!

Khaymann

So it looks like Lua is going to be a nice thing to learn while waiting for the game to come out. So I thought a maybe a good thing to have would be a spot that contains information on where to learn. Maybe some of the forum users that are good with the language could help us out with some advice and tips? 

So I am by no means an expert on coding in fact i know very little what I do know is that it is nice to have a place to write, or copy and paste code to i like to use notepad ++ it is free and has some nice features. you are also going to need an interpreter of some sort but I'm still looking for one myself (just started looking 5 min ago lol).

Like I said this is just somewhere to find good info on where to start nothing more, I know there are already post about this in reddit and 50 million other places and google is not hard but sometimes the best info is hard to find and I'm lazy  :P. so if you have any useful information please post below.

If you want to belittle me or anyone else please use some other medium (There is a personal message system for that) as I want it to be as easy as possible to find relevant information here as possible.

This would be a logical starting point:

https://www.lua.org/pil/contents.html

I expect the Lua in Dual Universe to be akin to what is possible in From the Depths:

http://www.fromthedepthsgame.com/forum/archive/index.php?thread-8910.html

Honestly, knowledge of programming (certain concepts and ideas) would already be a good starter. I'm more of a Java person with some Python ages ago, and I am well aware that Lua is something different. So we might all learn new skills while playing DU! : D

Hope I could help.

I believe learning lua on notepad++ is the biggest drag ever.

Here's a (much more fun) alternative.